Adding Users

To Add a new User to Briefcase you must be an Administrator.

Adding Users requires you have sufficient licenses available, you can check the number of licenses you have by signing in to the My Account area of our website. If required, you can add licenses here also.

In Briefcase log in with your Administrator account and navigate to the Settings window. If you have recently added users to your license, you will need to first update your license before adding users. Click the License tab and enter your License Key into the field. Clicking update will adjust the number of available users within Briefcase ready for you to add new users. 

Click the Users & Groups tab.

Click New along the bottom of the Users List.

Enter the Users full name, this is the display name for the User.

The User Name field is the used with the password to log in to Briefcase. The User Name must be unique.

Set a password for the User. Each user should reset their password using the User Options dialog on the Dashboard. Sharing a common password format is a security risk. Remember, Briefcase can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection. This means past employees or contractors can log in if the password format is easily guessed.

An Administrator can always reset a password via the Settings window if forgotten by the User.

The Group determines the level of access a User has. You can select from the list or create a new Group with custom settings.

Use the Role field to help identify a Users role in Jobs where they are a Team Member.

Email is used for various communication sent via Briefcase. If you are using a web email service such as Gmail, you must enter additional account settings by clicking Settings. These settings are not required for desktop mail clients.

The Signature field can be used to add the Users signature to layouts such as Estimates and Purchase Orders. This container supports most popular graphic formats.

The User colour and Graphic can be used to help identify Team Members quickly or to simply add personalisation.

Work hours are important for reporting utilisation and displaying availability in Scheduling. You should set these as accurately as possible.

Note: The Start and Finish time should include lunch breaks. For utilisation to be measured effectively time should include all paid work hours, this normally includes lunch breaks for most employees. The target for utilisation should be determined taking this in to account.

The Default Rate is the Rate used when the User records time. For example, a Designer may use Design for the default Rate. This way when they record time they wont need to select this Rate. If time is recorded on a Task with a predefined Rate, the Default Rate is ignored in favor of the Rate selected for that Task.

Unlike the Default Rate, the Fixed Cost and Fixed Sale override the Cost and Sale Rates defined in Tasks and even the Rates matrix. This is useful for contractors which have a set Rate they will charge regardless of what Task they are working on.

Finally you can set the minimum amount of time captured when users use the timer function on the Dashboard.

Click Done to finish.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk