User Options

User Options are accessed via the Dashboard, most of these options can also be accessed by Administrators via the Settings window.

To access, click the User Options link below your Name.

The first field is your display name.

Use the Role field to help identify your role in Jobs where you are a Team Member.

You can set your password by entering the password field. Each user should set their own password. Sharing a common password format is a security risk. Remember, Briefcase can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection. This means past employees or contractors can log in with your account if the password format is easily guessed.

An Administrator can always reset your password via the Settings window if you forget.

The Default Rate is the Rate used when you record time. For example if your are a Designer, you may select Design for your default Rate. This way when you record time you wont need to select a Rate. If you are recording time on a Task with a predefined Rate, your Default Rate is ignored in favor of the Rate selected for that Task.

Work hours are important for reporting utilisation and displaying your availability in Scheduling. You should set these as accurately as possible.

Note: The Start and Finish time should include your lunch break. For utilisation to be measured effectively time should include all paid work hours, this normally includes lunch breaks for most employees. The target for utilisation should be determined taking this in to account.

If you are using calendar feeds you should specify the timezone you are in. This will ensure that items on the calendar will appear at the right time.

Calendar Feeds work by using a XML feed URL.

To obtain your calendar's feed address for a Google account, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to Google using your Google account.
  2. Navigate to Google Calendars.
  3. In the calendar list on the left, move your mouse over the appropriate calendar. Click the drop-down arrow that appears, then select Calendar settings.
  4. Select the XML button on the calendar's settings page. A pop-up window with your calendar's private URL will appear.
  5. Use this URL to access your calendar data.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk